HOW TO GET A GOOD LANGUAGE EXCHANGE PARTNER

What’s up, guys?

Today, I’d like to talk about how to get a good language exchange partner. Actually, it is not so easy, because there are a lot of people who have profiles in language exchange websites, but when you start to talk with them, they’re always busy or aren’t interested in talking every week. It is so sad!

What I do is to contact people  and ask them if they ‘d like to practice, and if they answer, we set a day and hour, but trust me even though you reserve a time to talk, sometimes they don’t show up, So just move on and look for someone who really wants to learn.

If you find someone who adds you and says to you “we can talk when both of us are online” believe me they don’t really want to practice regularly and your contacts on Skype grow but you have anyone to practice with.

There are other people who talk with you one time and later they are not interested, I’m like, what kind of people are they looking for? A girlfriend/boyfriend or something?

Now I’d like to give you some tips about what you need to do when you start a language exchange.

Since the very first time you start to talk with someone who wants to practice regularly, you have to be straightforward and say on what you need help and how they can help you, it could be pronunciation, grammar, slang, idioms or writing. Then they’ll do the same thing.

Another thing that you need to remember is to set how long you guys are going to talk, it could be 1 hour or 30 minutes and in order that you don’t have any inconvenience what language to talk, divide the time half and half  for every language.

Doing that, you’ll focus on one language and it’ll be easier.

When you get to know some people you’ll see if they can help you with grammar or just practice or whatever you want to learn.

There are some exercises that you can try, I’ll talk about that in another post.

Perhaps you are wondering, where can you guys find people?

Personally, I recommend:

www.language-exchanges.org

www.italki.com

There are other ones that you can google, but I just use the ones above, I’ve also met nice partners onwww.livemocha.com

Well, that’s all for today and if you have any question, please drop me a message, don’t be shy, I don’t bite ha ha.

Leave a comment